Four Members Named To USVI Cannabis Advisory Board



Cannabis on wood background

Four Members Named To USVI Cannabis Advisory Board

US Virgin Islands Governor Albert Bryan Jr. has nominated 4 members to the Cannabis Advisory Board.
July 23, 2019

Governor Albert Bryan Jr. has officially nominated four of the initial nine members of the Cannabis Advisory Board (CAB). A press release from the Virgin Islands Government website made the announcement on July 23, 2019.

Senate President Novelle Francis Jr. received nomination letters for the following 4 nominees:

Ms. Nicole A. Craigwell-Syms

St. Thomas resident and Deputy Commissioner of the V.I. Department of Health

Ms. Craigwell-Syms formerly worked at the Virgin Islands Office of Management and Budget for ten years, and she has a Bachelor of Science degree from Alabama State University, Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in Public Administration from Southern Illinois University and a Ph.D. in Industrial-Organizational Psychology from Capella University.

Mr. Miguel Tricoche

St. Croix resident and Director of Consumer Affairs at the DLCA

Mr. Tricoche has experience as a Merchandising Execution Manager for Home Depot and as a Program/Project Manager Consultant in Atlanta.

He has a Bachelor of Arts degree in Math from the University of the Virgin Islands, a Lean Six Sigma Green Belt and Black Belt certification from Emory University, and an EMBA in Business Administration from the Kennesaw State University Michael J. Coles College of Business.

Dr. Catherine A. Kean

Physician on St. Thomas, representing the V.I. Health Department

Dr. Kean is an obstetrician/gynecologist associated with Schneider Regional Medical Center on St. Thomas. She has a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of the Virgin Islands and a Doctor of Medicine degree from the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey.

Mr. Hugo Roller II

Farmer and business owner on St. John

Mr. Roller is a farmer on St. John who was recommended for a board seat by Agriculture Commissioner Positive T.A. Nelson. A lifelong resident of the Territory, Mr. Roller owns Coral Bay Organic Farm and Garden Center, which has been family run in St. John for 25 years.

Mr. Hugo Roller II holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science with capstone in Agricultural Policy from the College of Charleston.

Who’s left?

The VI Medical Patient Care Act (MCPCA) states that the make up of the CAB members must include:

  • Department of Health representative Ms. Nicole A. Craigwell-Syms
  • Department of Agriculture representative
  • Representative of the Department of Licensing and Consumer Affairs – Mr. Miguel Tricoche
  • Farmer recommended by the Commissioner of Agriculture – Mr. Hugo Roller II
  • Two healthcare practitioners – Dr. Catherine A. Kean
  • Disability advocate
  • Representative from the University of the Virgin Islands Cooperative Extension Service
  • Economist or person in expertise in finance

Five members are left to be nominated by Governor Bryan. One more healthcare practitioner, a member of the department of agriculture, disability advocate, economist, and a UVI designee. The tenth and final member will be the head of the Office of Cannabis Regulations (OCR).

All members of the CAB are subject to approval via the VI Legislature.

Updated 7/23/19 9:42pm : Updated make up of the CAB members.

Updated 7/23/19 9:42pm: Updated Mr. Hugo Roller II profile.

Author - Sean McGuire

About the Author

Sean McGuire is a cannabis advocate, web designer, and fire performer. Resident of St. Croix, VI since 2011, originally hailing from New Jersey. Sean contributes articles to VIBE HIGH and CannaCarib

Contact Sean @ sean@vibehigh.vitwitter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest USVI Cannabis info!